Playing with the Portrait…

Like the average five year old, I love getting new “toys”.  And this is no exception!!  I had heard great things about the Silhouette Cameo as my sister-in-law has one, but I just couldn’t seem to get the pennies together to buy one new, and they are like gold-dust on eBay 😦  Then I read about the Portrait, happened to find a bargain on Amazon.com and the rest is happy history!!

Over on Silhouette Challenges, the current challenge is welding letters.  I love the look of welded letters, so with the help of an amazing tutorial on Finding Nana, I got started on a project that I will be entering in the challenge.  I chose Lobster2 again, as it is a lovely script style font, which lends itself well to welding.  I like to start small when I’m trying out something new, so I kept the sentiment simple, but I was very pleased with the results.2013-09-12 11.09.07

Then, with the help of another amazing tutorial by Linda Kaiser at The Paper Boutique, I added some faux stitching to a banner shape which I cut and mounted on another slightly larger banner.

For the main image of the card, I picked a silhouette of houses from the Silhouette Online store and then cut a heart from one house and windows from the others.  I printed on white card and used the colour flood technique shown by Linda on the tutorial, adding some more stitching as I went along.  I added a piece of red card behind the heart and mounted it all on a kraft card.2013-09-12 11.08.58

Thank you to Finding Nana and The Paper Boutique!

Thanks for reading x

Challenges:

CASology – Challenge 61: Silhouettes

Inky Chicks – Challenge 12: Stitching Faux or Real

Silhouette Challenges – Challenge 5: Welding Letters

Silhouette Challenges

10 thoughts on “Playing with the Portrait…

  1. Lots of great information on this post along with your fabulous card! I’ve pinned both tutorials! Thanks! So glad you joined us at CASology this week!

  2. Love your little neighbourhood and your simple use of colour! Thanks so much for joining us at CASology this week!

  3. what a sweet little card… adding the heart to one of the houses is a brilliant idea! thanks so much for playing along with CASology!

  4. I love it all…but what drew me to your card were the sweet little white stitch lines you drew around each house! Wonderful details on a lovely CAS card! Thanks for joining us at CASology!

Leave a Reply

