Hip, hip, hooray…..18 on Saturday!!

No, not me!!  😉

This weekend, my niece will turn 18!  It only seems like yesterday that I first met her when I started dating my (now) husband; she was a cheeky little almost 2 year old….time really has flown!  Now, I’m proud to say, that she has grown into an amazing young woman and I can’t wait to see what adulthood has in store for her.  Still, enough of the sentimental or I’ll be sitting here sobbing over my keyboard, and that just won’t do!

Here is the card I’ve made for her:2013-09-18 09.44.30

The little birds are from Tiddly Inks; I added the letters into the pages by hand, and love the how flexible this makes the stamp.  I can see it being used over and over again!  I chose relatively muted colours for the birds – partly, if I’m totally honest, as I don’t yet have many sets of colours in Pro-Markers that blend well and look good alongside each other!  I outlined the images in Powder Blue, to give the illusion of a blue sky in the background.2013-09-18 09.44.37

I got the idea for the banner hanging from the tree from the Tiddly Inks site, but adapted it to suit this occasion.  The banner shapes were cut and printed by the Silhouette and I simply coloured in the numbers and letters in the same colours as the birds, threading a little piece of lilac baker’s twine through to “hang” the banner from the branch.2013-09-18 09.44.40

Thanks for reading x

Challenges:

CAS(E) this Sketch – Challenge 45

Seize the Birthday

5 thoughts on “Hip, hip, hooray…..18 on Saturday!!

  1. What a pretty card! I love those sweet little birds and the banner ‘hanging’ from the branch is very clever. I’m sure your niece will love it! Thanks so much for joining us at Seize the Birthday!

  2. Pingback: Keepsake trinket | very belle

Leave a Reply

