Happy Bird-day

I thought I’d try something a little different this evening…  paper piecing was one of the first papercrafts I tried when I was younger as it was one of the crafts available on a summer camp during the school holidays.  Now several (dozen!) years on, I thought it was time to re-visit it!

The image I have used for the card is a freebie from Birdie Brown.  I love these stamps, so I was delighted when I found these birds as I could already see how they would work as a paper pieced project!  I printed the image onto plain white coated card and coloured the flowers, leaves and sky in with my Pro-Markers, keeping the colour palette quite simple.  Then, I printed the birds another three times on three sheets from a First Edition Summer Breeze paper stack – I chose brown for the birds bodies, peach and green for the wings and tail feathers.  Using my sharpest scissors, I cut out the birds’ bodies, wings and tail feathers and then placed them back together.  The larger bird was stuck with glue dots, but I used 3D pads for the smaller bird, to create a little depth to the image.2013-10-07 10.18.40

The layout is based around Sketch 35 on the From The Heart Stamps blog, with just a couple of minor tweaks. Sketch035

2013-10-07 10.18.21

The background papers were also from the  First Edition Summer Breeze paper stack, with a strip of peach satin ribbon and cream ric-rac across the top of the card.

Finally, as there wasn’t a great deal of room  left for a sentiment, I printed the Happy Bird-day stamp from Birds Cards and cut it out using the Silhouette. 2013-10-07 10.18.30

I am hoping to enter several challenges with this card; but I have to admit that it was made with the paper piecing challenge and DT call over at Milk Coffee in mind.  Fingers crossed…!!

Thanks for reading x

Challenges:

Milk Coffee – Paper Piecing

Passion For Pro-Markers – Week 218: Lots of Legs

613 Avenue Create – Anything Goes

Joanna Sheen Challenge – So Sweet

6 thoughts on “Happy Bird-day

  1. This is fabulous. I love the CAS style with the kraft. Such a wonderful card design. Thanks for joining us at Passion For Promarkers this week.
    Hugs,
    Andie xx

  2. Very sweet card! Love the sketch you used as well as how you colored that adorable image! Thanks so much for playing along with us @ 613 Avenue Create & hope to see you back again next week!!!!!

Leave a Reply

