GDT and Blog Hop at All Dressed Up

I was over the moon to be asked to join All Dressed Up as a GDT for January, and even more excited to hear that they would be having a blog hop to celebrate a new release….not only would I get to be part of a blog hop for the first time, but I get to play with the new digis to boot!!  

There are four new releases this month, all of which can be found over on the All Dressed Up store.  The theme for the challenge is “Anything Goes”. A nice and easy theme to start the new year with.  The challenge will run until 15th February and the winner will receive 3 images of their choice from the store.  Please make sure you stop by the blog to check out the rest of the talented Dressy Girls creations.

Now as I said earlier All Dressed Up are also having a blog hop for this challenge, two lucky winners will receive 2 images of their choice from the All Dressed Up store.  In order to be in with a chance of winning you have to visit every blog on the hop list and leave a comment by the date shown below.  Two winners will be picked at Random by two of the Dressy Girls on Wednesday 22nd January . A whole week should give you plenty of time to hop along!If you have been following the hop list you have arrived here from Sharon’s blog.  Here is the hopping list so you don’t get lost along the way:
Good luck on the hop and make sure you check out the blog for the winners & all the challenge details.

Now, on to my project!!  I chose to use Little Bookworm for my project as I felt that I could make more than a card with her (I had a little free time over Christmas and the New Year!).  So, I decided to make a bookmark giftcard – I have no idea if these actually exist, I have simply picked a name for it that describes what I made 🙂

all dressed up gdt bookmark full

To begin, I made the bookmark by printing the image on a long strip of card, which I folded in half.  I coloured the image using Pro-Markers, then cut a frame from a lovely yellow paper from Studio Calico, which I popped over the top of the image.  Next, I added two strips of magnetic tape to the ends and then lined the inside with a stripy paper from the same studio Calico stack, to hide the magnetic strips and make it look prettier inside (even though you don’t often have to look at it!)

The next step was to make the card – the background is text from Alice In Wonderland, found on Emily’s Image Garden, which I printed as a faded copy and edged with Scattered Straw distress ink.  The little flowers in the corner were made using a combination of petal punches, with heart buttons or little beads as the centres.  The petals were cut from the yellow Studio Calico paper used for the frame and the Alice text, printed smaller and in its original colours.

To mount the bookmark onto the card, I simply cut a strip out of the front of the card, and slipped the bookmark through, closing the magnets to hold it in place, which makes the bookmark the main image for the card.

All in all, a lovely little giftcard for any Little Bookworm!

all dressed up gdt full

I’d like to thank All Dressed Up for giving me this opportunity to join them as a Guest Designer!

I would like to enter this card into the following challenges:

The Crafting Cafe – anything goes

Silhouette Challenges – Anything Goes

Seemacrafts  – Anything Goes

Natalie and Amys – One for the Girlies

Cards Galore Encore – Anything Goes

Through The Craft Room Door – Anything Goes 

Thanks for reading x

88 thoughts on “GDT and Blog Hop at All Dressed Up

  1. I love the papers you used with this project, just perfect! The flowers add such a nice touch as well. This is just so very pretty and sweet!

  2. Wow Victoria! What an amazing bookmark! Never seen anything like that before. Great idea to use it on the front of the card too and of course Wendy’s little bookworm is the perfect foil for the whole project! It’s a delight to have you join us this month. Thanks for this clever idea! xxx

  3. Well done on your GDT spot Tor, its such a fab design. I love your extract from Alice in wonderland as you backing paper, so simple and yet amazingly effective Rachael x (SS teamie)

  4. So glad you are guest designing forADU! I love your bookmark, the papers look great and the written words are perfect for the bookworm. Nice shape too. Wonderfully done.
    Hugs Kelly

  5. Hi Victoria

    Gorgeous colouring of this Little Bookworm… love your use of blue and yellow… and the fabulous frame design just sets her off perfectly!

    Good to have you on board as our Guest Designer too!

    Big Hugs
    Christine (ADU DT) x

  6. This card is just gorgeous, so cute! I love the flowers and buttons. Thanks for sharing 🙂
    Kerry x

  7. This is such a cute project idea and I am totally going to make a bookmark gift card! The image is perfect for it and the combo of sunny yellow and the text DP is lovely 🙂
    It’s so lovely to have you guesting with us Dressy Girls for January and hope you are enjoying your first blog hop – it’s so much fun!
    Hugs, Kat x

    • Yay!! So excited that you liked the giftcard enough to want to make one too!! I’ve really enjoyed the blog hop, so nice to get such a lot of feedback in one go! Best wishes xx

  8. Beautiful creation using this little bookworm. I love this image and you’ve done a grand job with this fabulous design. I hope it’s ok with you but I always pin the team’s and guest designers creations to the All Dressed Up Pinterest board because gorgeousness needs to be shared. You can see it here:

    Thanks for joining us as January’s GD – your work is fabulous.

  9. I love this little bookworm, especially in blue… And she is reading Alice in Wonderland? Just Gorgeous, love it.

  10. Wow love it ,thats me all over i love reading if i have a book in hand i cannot put it down,

    Thank you for joining in our first challenge of 2014 ‘Anything Goes’ over on SeemaCrafts Challenge Blog.

  11. That is just too stinkin’ cute!! Love that sweet girl and the papers you used are awesome! Thanks for joining us at Silhouette challenges, have a great day 🙂

  12. This little image Bookworm is so cute. I like how you colored her and the dp Alice in Wonderland is perfect for this image. 😀
    Deborah

Leave a Reply

