New Challenge at Crafty Girls!

Morning everyone!

It’s time for a new challenge over at Crafty Girls and we’re very lucky to have been sponsored by Meljens and Paper Nest Dolls!

It’s been a while since I tried out something new, so I decided to add a shaker panel to the front of this card.  It’s been a long time since I last made one – and if you could have seen me puzzling over it, you’d have thought I’d never even seen one before!!  For the shaker panel, I cut an aperture in a panel of cardstock, added acetate over the window and then laid 3D foam pads around the hole.  I popped in some lovely sequins and flowers from my stash and then added the back of the panel to seal them in.  I then stuck the whole panel to the front of my card.

meljens 20 mar 14 full

I had chosen Little Layered Flowers Mini Cuties by Meljens for my card.  Before printing and cutting the images, I separated them in the Silhouette Designer software and laid them out in a curve to fit around the shaker panel of my card.  Then, once I was happy with the layout, I offset the image to allow me to keep the lovely little swirls around the flowers.  Once printed, the images were coloured with pink and lemon Pro-Markers to co-ordinate with the sequins and I outlined the flowers with Cool Grey 1 and 2 to create the illusion of depth.

meljens 20 mar 14 flat

I have recently seen a clear banner tutorial, but I couldn’t remember where, so I tried to recreate the banner from memory by cutting a rainbow shape from cardstock and then folding it in the correct shape – it looked so simple, but I couldn’t get it to lay right at first!  (Mind you, I think I was having an off day, judging by how I struggled to get the layers for the shaker panel in the right order!)  Finally, I was happy with the shape and colour of the banner, so I popped some 3D pads behind it and stuck it down.  A couple of lemon sequins and some pink and white twine finished it off nicely!

I’ll be entering this card into the current challenge over at CASE Study where this gorgeous card is the inspiration for the current challenge:

CASE Study 183

Make sure you pop over to Crafty Girls to have a look at the projects created by my teamies – I look forward to seeing your entries on my rounds 🙂

I’d like to enter this card into the following challenges:

CASE Study – #183

Moving Along With The Times – photo inspiration

MilkCoffee – Use At Least Two Flowers

DRS Designs – Blooming Spring

Southern Girls – Floral Frenzy



9 thoughts on “New Challenge at Crafty Girls!

  1. Hi Victoria, a beautiful card love the flowers and the pretty colours. Thank you for a fabulous challenge this week.

    Hugs Erin x

  2. Hi there, love your card! It’s sooo pretty and elegant!
    Thanks for joining in with us this week at MAWTT.
    Sarah

  3. Super card, wonderful image used & design!
    Thanks for joining us at Southern Girls Challenge this round!
    ¸..• ´¨¨)) -:¦:-¸.•´ .•´¨¨))*((¸¸.•´ ..•´
    Shell in Alaska
    {http://akstamping.blogspot.com}

  4. Wow, that is CAS deliciousness! Love the shaker element and fresh spring colours. What a beautiful creation. Thanks for sharing it with us over at Southern Girls Challenge Blog for our Floral Frenzy Challenge. Hope to see you for our next challenge. Hugs, Wends x SGC DT

Leave a Reply

