GDT At Paper Crafting Magic

I do love having the chance of being a Guest Designer with a team – it’s always lovely to meet other crafters and see how things work on different teams!  I was very lucky recently to be asked to guest over at Paper Crafting Magic – where the theme for this challenge is “My Favourites”.  To be honest, my list of favourites is ever-growing and I wasn’t sure that I could narrow it down to a point where it didn’t look like I had thrown my craft room at the card!  On the other hand, it makes it a really simple challenge to play along with!

Around the same time, I was asked to make a card for a friend who has a family Communion this month; no theme or extra details were given.  And so, my project for my GDT began!  I narrowed down some of My Favourites (I’ve included styles, techniques and tools too); the list included: dry embossing, banners, CAS, Silhouette, glitter and sparkle, and altering templates to create something new!

papercrafting magic gdt full

I have made a few box cards recently – I love the “wow!” factor and they really are simple to make!  I have a template from the Silhouette Online store, but this card doesn’t really bear much resemblance to Lori Whitlock’s original design anymore!  To begin with, I increased the size of the final card, as the original was too small for me.  I then altered the inside panels to add a cross and a banner for the sentiment.  The decorative side panels were cut from a Papermania glitter vellum (the photos struggle to show the sparkle, I’m afraid!) – in order to make the panel stick without the glue showing through, I simply added little dots of Mod Podge to the back of the glitter flowers, rather than sticking the whole panel.  I also personalised the card, to make it a little more than just a card, maybe a keepsake.  Overall, I think I managed to include quite a few of My Favourites 🙂

papercrafting magic gdt close

I’d like to thank Justin and the team at Paper Crafting Magic for inviting me to join them as GDT for this challenge – make sure you pop by with your favourites!


2 thoughts on “GDT At Paper Crafting Magic

  1. Morning Tor what a stunning box card really elegant in it s simplicity – love the colour scheme it is really lovely hugs Judith x

Leave a Reply

