Back To CAS!

Lately, I’ve found that there is some much going on that I can’t sit, relax and let the card take shape organically….  So I’m playing along with some of my favourite sketch challenges til things calm down a bit.  Today’s card is based around the current sketch challenge over at Freshly Made Sketches:

FMS Final 143-001

I like the simplicity of this sketch!  It was a pleasure to head back to my very CAS style – I prefer not to use images on very clean cards, but as most of my design team work involves sponsor images, I haven’t had a chance in recent weeks to strip it back!  In  fact, this card almost felt too CAS….is that even possible? 😉

james birthday card

So, back to the card….  The circle, banner and back mat are all cut from AC cardstock.  The sentiment was printed on the card before cutting the shapes on the Silhouette (although it struggled to read the registration marks on the teal card, so I cut the banner by hand!).  The grey mat at the back was dry embossed with a grungy stripe folder to add a little texture.  The last element is a strip of striped washi tape, which runs across the centre of the card, anchoring all the element s together.  The right hand side of the banner and left hand side of the ring have been popped up on 3D pads to give a little more depth to the card.

james birthday card close

I’d like to enter this card into the following challenges:

Freshly Made Sketches – see sketch above #143

Keep It Simple! – Turquoise

15 thoughts on “Back To CAS!

  1. Gorgoeus! I love the colors (they have a bit of a nauitcal feel) and love the simplicity. Thanks for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches.

  2. Fabulous CAS card! The way you threaded the “birthday” through the ring is a great idea! Thanks so much for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches.

Leave a Reply

