Monochromatic Challenge

This week’s challenge at Sentimental Sundays is sponsored by Aurora Wings, and our theme is “Monochromatic”.  I used Oriental Poppy for my project – although I haven’t quite made a card….

Let me explain!  My brother has been researching our family tree for several years now, and is making good sense of our shared past.  There are many sepia photographs and medals relating to family members who were served in World War I, some of which have been mounted in display frames.  With the recent commemoration of the start of WWI, I thought this would be an alternative way to use this gorgeous poppy image, adding to it a quote by John McCrae.

sentimental sundays 17 aug 14 full

I coloured it in sepia tones to blend well with the photographs, using a combination of Satin, Pastel Beige, Sandstone, Cinnamon and Cocoa ProMarkers.  The edges of the postcard were softened with Tattered Rose and Vintage Photo Distress Inks, before mounting the finished image on a piece of Kraft card.

Pop over to Sentimental Sundays to see how the rest of the DT have used their images!

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Monochromatic Challenge

  1. Your card is very beautiful. I don’t lieve very far away from the flanders fiels. I am from Belgium. I like the colours you have chosen they work very well with this image. In one word beautiful. BTW I did join in this challenge and made my very first monochromatic card ever. Lots of greetings from Veerle x

Leave a Reply

