Welcome Little One…

You may recall I made a pink baby card recently, playing the odds that my friend’s imminent arrival would be a girl?  Well, as you can probably guess, today I’m sharing a blue baby card!!  That’s right, the little one has made a slightly tardy arrival, and is definitely a little boy!!

I decided not to remake the same card in blue, opting instead to make this card:

baby boy full

I am a huge fan of script style fonts, and this is my current favourite, mainly because the letters weld together beautifully and the Silhouette cuts it effortlessly!  Despite having re-organised my paper storage (more on that another day!), I couldn’t find any baby blue card, so I’ve chosen a lovely textured aqua, which I think is a Bazzill cardstock.  I cut the words and the negative heart using the Silhouette, then mounted a linen textured cardstock behind and glued the wording in place.  The base layer is a shimmery aqua cardstock (Bazzill again, I think), which I ran through the Darice chevron embossing folder for a little more obvious texture.  Finally, a little heart button, with metallic embroidery thread tied through to finish it.

baby boy flat

I’d like to enter this card into the following challenges:

Dreamweaver Stencils – CAS

Paper Crafting Journey – Emboss That!

Handmade Harbour – Hearts and Flowers

Paper Pretties – Texture

Clear It Out – Blues (everything used to make the card was from my stash!)

Try It On Tuesday – Celebrations

Unstampabelles – New Beginnings

Creative Creations Challenge – Less Is More

As You Like It – Showcase and Explain Your Favourite Style: My favourite style is Clean and Simple.  I’m not a big fan of flower arrangements on cards and I tend to keep my embellishments to a minimum, maybe a button or two, some ribbon or twine.  I would much rather see a sentiment or a simple image as the main focus, with areas of space on a card and I prefer a very simple colour scheme!

Thanks for reading x

27 thoughts on “Welcome Little One…

  1. so elegant Tor – I love it. I have a craft robo but can’t get along with the software – is the silhouette better and easier to use? I was thinking of purchasing one. your cards always look so gorgeous when you use it. Rachael (SS Teamie) xx

    • I can’t compare the two machines Rachael as I’ve never used a craft robo, but the silhouette studio software is fairly easy to just install and go – and where I have run into problems, I’ve usually been able to figure it quickly with the help of Google and some of the amazing tutorials that are available online! Would definitely recommend it…. Thanks for your lovely comment too, glad you could stop by! x

  2. Beautiful – so simple and elegant. I was wondering what the electronic cutters could do that the die cutters cannot and now I see! Also, how do you glue down without getting a mess! Better than me obviously! Thanks for entering this at Unstampabelles! Hope to see you back soon!

    • Hi Susan, I was of a similar mindset, until I tried one out! I still have a cuttlebug, but only use it to emboss now! I have been seduced by the flexibility and versatility of electronic cutters – I lost count of how many times I needed a die in a slightly different size! Now there’s no end to how I can manipulate the size, dimensions etc, not to mention the fact that I can cut any font on my pc….it’s working out so much cheaper than buying dies! As for the glue…just a fine nib glue bottle, no tricks or shortcuts this time, I’m afraid! Thanks for your lovely comment too!

  3. This is such a lovely card, clean and elegant lines. Thank you for joining in our challenge at Unstampabelles this month.

  4. This is such a wonderful baby card. Love heart shaped button and the die cuts. Really pretty!!! Thanks for playing along with us at Clear It Out Challenges. Have a wonderful day and good luck! Hugs, Sujin

  5. That is a beautiful baby boy card, love the touch of the heart button. Thanks for being part of Unstampabelles.

Leave a comment