Happy birthday Little Brother!!

Today I’m sharing the card I made for my brother’s birthday recently.  As I’ve mentioned before, he’s not a big fan of coloured images and likes his cards fairly simple.  So, this is how it turned out:

philip birthday card full

I based the design on an old sketch from the Deconstructed Sketch archives.  I have been wanting to play with one of the layout for a while – it’s just a shame this isn’t the current sketch so I can’t enter the challenge!

DS123

For the circles, I cut three identical circles from Kraft card, then embossed with different embossing circles to add some texture.  The dark blue mat was cut from a piece of corrugated card that I forgot was lurking in my stash and the piece of blue spotted ribbon was also an offcut found in the depths of my ribbon box.  The sentiment was printed directly onto a piece of felt-marked card that was an offcut from some Order of Service booklets I made a while back.  For the little dots, I simply cut three different sized circles from blue cardstock and added a little Glossy Accents to the top to make them shiny!

philip birthday card flat

Hey presto! One birthday card for my little brother 🙂

I’d like to enter this card into the following challenges:

Crafty Ribbons – Ribbons and Bows

Cardz 4 Guyz – Typography

Die Cut Divas – Embossing

Flat Friends – Cards for Men/Boys




19 thoughts on “Happy birthday Little Brother!!

  1. A very elegant card for your brother Tor and I love that you made most of it from your scrap box 🙂

  2. Wow i love this card, maybe I’ll be Case – ing one day, love the idea of the 3 embossed circles, super colours too. Thanks for sharing with us at Cardz 4 Guyz, perfect for our challenge. Caz

  3. This is right up my street – I love simple, elegant, card designs and I have a massive soft spot for kraft card and embossing too so I think it’s just perfect xx I’m certain your brother will love it xx Thank you so much for joining us a Flat Friends and sharing your beautiful creation with us, Em xx

  4. Love this very striking design, I love the sharp contrast in the shapes and colours.
    Thanks for sharing with us at Cardz4Guyz this time around.

  5. Love the different embossing on the circles—an excellent idea! This is a wonderful card for a guy and perfect for this week’s Cardz 4 Guyz challenge. Thanks so much for joining us.

  6. Love the way you have embossed the circles with different folders. Lovely card. Thanks for joining us at Die Cut Divas this month.

  7. Love this card!
    I think the enamel dots finish it all perfectly.
    Thanks for joining us at Crafty Ribbons Challenges!
    Laura

  8. Somehow I missed this.card. Fantastic masculine card. And you won over at Die Cut Divas’ challenge for March! Congratulations.

Leave a comment