Crafting From The Heart GDT

I’m delighted to share a little news with you today…I was recently asked to be GDT over at Crafting From the Heart, a new challenge blog which opened its virtual doors for the first time in late November.  I am very lucky to be joining them for their December and January challenges.

There are two sponsors and two great prizes up for grabs this fortnight.  Delicious Doodles have 4 images up for grabs and Dilly Beans are offering 3 digis to a lucky winner – definitely worth popping over there to enter!!

I have two cards to share with you today.  My first card uses an adorable framed penguin image from Dilly Beans.

penguin full

I had great fun with this little chap; after colouring most of the image with ProMarkers, I paper pieced his hat and scarf using a knit-style paper from the Sweater Weather collection by Harper Finch.  I also added a second layer of holly and popped his beak up on 3D pads to create some depth.  I embossed a piece of white cardstock using the ???? folder to echo the chevron knit of the paper.  For a final touch, I coloured a textured vinyl snowflake with the same blue as I used for the sky in the background, added a button, some silver beads and a little baker’s twine.  Hey presto!  An adorable little penguin, all bundled up warm!!

pnguin close

*****************************************

My second card features a wonky 3-tiered cake image from Delicious Doodles.

delicious doodles cake close

I coloured the image with a selection of ProMarkers, and the added some Stickles to give it a little shimmer and sparkle, which I hope you can see in the photo above.  For the background, I laid a layer of shimmery pale pink wrapping paper over a card blank, then added a layer of white card with some sparkly vellum.  In the centre, I added a piece of pink polka dot satin ribbon and some square pink gems to a happy birthday sentiment from  a Forever Friends paper stack.

delicious doodles cake full

I hope you’ll get a chance to pop over to see the DT projects over at Crafting From The Heart; they’re such a friendly bunch of crafters, I know they’ll make you feel welcome!

I’d like to enter the following challenges:

Framed Penguin card:

MelonHeadz – Christmas

Craft Your Passion – Let It Snow

CAS On Sunday – Christmas

My Time To Craft – Cute and Cuddly Christmas Animals

Thanks for reading x

8 thoughts on “Crafting From The Heart GDT

  1. Love both cards. But my favorite is the little penguin you did as picture set in the famed card. Awesome idea. 😀
    Your OSAAT teamie sis,
    Deborah

  2. wow stunning cards! Just adore the decoupage that you have done! The embossing is a great touch as well!

    Thanks for joining our fortnightly challenge here at Melonheadz friends challenge. Hope you will join us next time DT Crafting Vicky

Leave a comment